for the El Paso area

The Sierra Club’s Lone Star Political Committee has endorsed the following candidates in the November 6, 2018, general election in the El Paso area. For a list of all our endorsements statewide, click here.


Why aren't some candidates listed? For challengers, endorsements are considered on a rolling basis, and depends on if they submitted a legislative candidate questionnaire and other factors, which may include their public record, past accomplishments, and the intersectional dynamic between their environmental stances and their positions on social justice issues. Incumbent endorsements are also decided on a rolling basis based on voting record and other factors. 


The endorsed candidates on this page are for state and local races only (U.S. House and Senate endorsements can be found here), and have been approved to date. Please check this page regularly for updates.

Statewide Office

Lupe Valdez


Website | Twitter | Facebook

Justin Nelson

Attorney General

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Kim Olson

Agriculture Commissioner

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Mike Collier

Lieutenant Governor

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Roman McAllen

Railroad Commissioner

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Texas House

HD-75 Mary Gonzalez

 WebsiteTwitter | Facebook

HD-74 Poncho Nevarez (Incumbent)

Website | Twitter | Facebook

HD-77 Lina Ortega

Website | Facebook

HD-78 Joe Moody

 Twitter | Facebook

© 2018 Sierra Club Political Committee of Texas, Turn Texas Green.  Created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon